At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Entertainment activities such as sports, social gatherings, and festivals are important parts of sound learning for a student since they play an important role as a stimulant which facilitates an overall understanding. While some may disagree, I am interested in the idea that like classes, assignments, and libraries, sports, and social activities should also be given equal priorities regarding financial opportunities since they have critical impacts on the personal development of a particular student. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore and substantiate in the following essay.

First of all, to get the idea on the road I would like to cite that sports and social activities are very important in maintaining a healthy lifestyle which is enormously important for personal development. To be more specific, to maintain a healthy lifestyle and also making progress in learning a student should always make a significant engagement with the society they live in. A study conducted among university students in Bangladesh in 2011 reported that students who make more social interactions through involvement in social gatherings, concerts, and sports are far better in understanding complex behaviors. Upon the results from this research investigation, the government proposed a new budget only indebted to improve the sports and other social activities for the students inside the university campus. Thus, I believe that universities and colleges should have a tight policy for financial supports concerning sports and other recreational activities.

On top of that, living in a particular area to study something requires a bit of engagement with the people, culture, and societies around. If someone is focusing on only studying and library activities, he/she may get bored quickly. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. I remember when I first moved to my university for undergrad studies, I was totally confused and bored since the place and study seemed pretty new and tough for me. So what I did was I tried to engage myself with the social activities, departmental sports tournaments, and other recreational ceremonies to cheer myself from getting completely bored. Eventually, I got everything I needed inside my campus. I believe this was one of many important factors that helped me to overcome the tough time and obtain better grades.

In conclusion, I think that every university and college should have the same emphasis on facilitating sports and other social activities in the same way they do for academic purposes, especially regarding funding opportunities so that the activities could go on throughout the year. This is because sports and other social activities help students progress in personal development and smooth learning.