Universities should require every graduation student to take public speaking courses.

University provides the fundamental knowledge that every graduate student can apply to their lives or career in the future. And recently, there has been an issue about whether graduate students should take public speaking courses. Some people claim that the course is unnecessary because not everyone will have to acquire this kind of skill. However, others believe that the course benefits students a lot since it can help students with various situation in the workplace. And I personally agree that students should be required to take public speaking courses for the following reasons.

To commence with, students are able to learn to build confidence through public speaking courses, which can help them after graduating. That is, taking the public speaking courses can help students gain confidence because they will learn to speak in public. This trains their ability to share their opinion without being shy or timid. So graduate students should possess this quality since this makes them be confident of their opinion and helps them tackle things in the workplace. A vivid example can be given to shed light on what was elaborated above. My friend, Mike, took public speaking course during college, and now has already entered the workplace for several years. And he always has to share opinions with his colleagues or boss about the projects in the company. Every time when he has to share opinions, he remembers that his public speaking professor taught him to have confident during his speech. This really helps him a lot. Because of his confidence, he always wins colleagues compliments that he really did a great job. Therefore, I think graduate students should be required to take public speaking courses as the course helps them gain confidence.

Moreover, students can derive the skill of organizing via public speaking courses, and this also provides students with organized speaking later in the future. When delivering public speaking, students will have to speak in an organized way and with organized content. So by taking the public speaking courses, students can learn to have an organizing speech, which is good quality to possess and helpful to their future. Because in the future, especially when they enter the workplace, they will have tremendous opportunities to deliver speech in public, it is crucial that they have an organized thought to complete their speech. Thus, I think students should take public speaking courses since this can help organize their thought and have better ability to addressing a speech.

To sum up, with the reasons mentioned above, I firmly hold the view that graduation students should be required to take public speaking courses. That is not to say that other points of view are completely without merits. Still, I think the reasons I provided in favor of my position are much stronger.