TPO 31

In this ever-changing world, people change their lifestyle opposing to the past, and make efforts to adapt to the world as fast as they can. Some people might view the changes as disturbance since this may be the source of being less happy compared to the past. However, others may stand a different point of view that they are still satisfied with their lives just like people living in the past. As far as I am concerned, people now are not less happy or less satisfied with lives than people who lives in the past for the following reasons.

First of all, people now have more entertaining activities to engage in, so they can still content to their lives. With the state-of-the-art technologies, companies are constantly releasing diverse types of entertaining device, which provide people lots of entertaining activities to choose from. This can serve people as relaxation in this changing world because people might feel stressed out for the competitive world. However, people living in the past does not have these advanced technologies, which limits their entertainment. Therefore, I think people now are happier than people were in the past as they have more enetertaining activities to relax themselves.

What is more, people now have better quality of living, which allow them to enjoy their lives without worries. In this changing world, one of the changes is the better condition of life, such as the medical improvement and sanitary. When people attain these basic needs, they become happier because they do not need to concern about anything. For example, better medical techniques make people happier. Now, with the medical techniques, people who have cancer can be cured. When they noticed that they are ill, they do not have to concern that the cancer will worsen. By contrast, people living in the past does not have these advanced techniques. Whenever people are ill, they may have to being greatly painful or even wait until death, which brings lots of conerns to people and makes them less happy. Thus, in my perspective, people now content to their lives because of the better quality of living.

By contrast, there is a popular concept that people now are less happy because there were less disturbing things, such as the messages from smartphones and the noise from television. Nevertheless, this fails to consider the fact that people now have those things to get information from others, which makes people have broader view of things. This allows people to have a greater understanding of things and improve their lives. Once their lives are improved, they will be happier. As a result, it is hard to convince people of this idea.

With the reasons mentioned above, I firmly hold the view that people are not less happy with lives than people were in the past. That is not to say that other points of view are completely without merits. Still, the reasons I provided in favor of my position are much stronger.