When you make a purchase which of the following will affect yourdecision 1 suggestions from friends 2 media advertisements from TV magazines 3 Recommendations from salesperson 4 On your own

When coming to making a huge purchase, the debate over which factors affect people’s decisions more significantly is still fierce. Information from the media, salespeople’s advice, our own judgment, and recommendations from surrounding people are four common options that influence our decision. The first three indeed have their own advantages, but they are pale when compared with advice from our friends and colleagues.

To begin with, our friends and coworkers are more like to provide us with some helpful information sincerely. We are familiar with each other and know their strengths and hobbies. In that case, we can obtain certain information from the field they are interested in. Use my personal experience as an example. I used to buy a pair of Bluetooth speakers to play some music during my trip. I asked one of my colleagues, a technology enthusiast, for help. He recommended me a pair of speakers that have a reasonable price and reminded me that they show poor performance in high volume due to the limited output power of the USB port. As I only use it on trips, it is an acceptable option considering the reasonable price. There is no more efficient approach to making a purchase decision than listening to advice for our surrounding people.

When we face a considerable purchase, we may feel anxious since there are so many potential choices that it is hard to decide on our own. These kinds of things can exhaust us even before we make a decision. Therefore, we tend to ask for support from other people because they do not undergo the same pressure we experience, which helps them make a more rational decision. Nevertheless, some salespeople in the store may make use of that anxiety to recommend something rip-off since their salary is based on their sales, which encourages them to provide some expensive items. As for checking information from the media, we may quickly be buried among countless reviews posted by others, which further hinders us from making a rational purchase.

In a nutshell, information from our surrounding people undoubtedly has the greatest influence for the reasons discussed above.