When you make a purchase, which of the following will affect your

decision? 1. suggestions from friends 2.media (advertisements from TV,

magazines) 3. Recommendations from salesperson 4. On your own

When being asked who I should ask when I am going to make a purchase, the response must be a boilerplate answer, to ask my friends. In my opinion, this demonstrates how our peers play a key role while we make decisions. I would like to provide several reasons to substantiate my statement.

First of all, the major reason for my propensity is that friends always provide with the most professional information. In fact, nowadays, people are extremely specialized in their own field, thus, while we encounter a difficult choice, our prominent friends can always give us the most professional advice. Take my friend, Jack, as an example. As a formal technician of world-famous high-tech industry, he is good at manufacturing any forms of electronics, such as televisions and computers. Last week, when I tried to find a new television which is going to be installed in my new house, he had been the one who analyzing every kind of televisions for me. Thanks to his help, I could find the most economical and suitable television in just one hour. Therefore, my friends are credited with the experts who can always direct me to buy the most suitable product efficiently.

Secondly, friends are considered to be the ones who know my needs most. Actually, as a social person, I have spent a lot of time with friends. As a result, they can always provide me with advises based on their understanding of me. To illustrate such argument, my best friend, Ivy, can be cited as an instance. Last Christmas, when I was fascinated by the glowing decorations in the furniture store, trying to buy one of them to enrich my house. She recommended me to buy a cheapest Christmas tree in the store since I had told her that I have to save my money for an upcoming concert of my favorite singer. Clearly, a friend like Ivy, who has engaged in my life so deeply, can always advise me objectively. In consequence, asking friends for recommendations enable me to look beyond my point of view, and thus make the smartest decisions possible.

To conclude, even though some sophisticated may think it is not necessary to ask someone for help whole purchasing, I ponder it is not wise to buy something without others’ aids since purchasing is always related to professional fields and subjective views. That is to say, I believe it is friends that make wise purchasing possible.