people who give extra money to charity or good are happier than people who spend their money on themselves

In today’s consuming-driven society, materialism increasingly dictates our happiness. The debate over whether people would be happier when they use their extra money for charity than use it for themselves is still fierce. Some suggest it is more advantageous that spending money on themselves. However, I hold this view differently. I believe people will feel more satisfied when they use extra money to do good.

To begin with, for some people, especially those who are famous, the reason why they have so many possessions is that there are plenty of people supporting them. If they can use their money to return to society and their community, it can help them set a good reputation and provide them with self-efficacy. According to Maslow’s hierarchy of needs, everyone has some instinctive need to be respected and self-actualization. Suppose someone no longer needs to be concerned about some basic physiological needs like food or clothes. In that case, they will pursue further happiness, which can be provided by the charity and doing good. My grandfather is a suitable example here. He started from nothing to create his own business vehicle repair when he was young. He gained much money and supported his family. However, his possessions did not bring him happiness, and he still felt lonely and hollow at an advanced age. Therefore, he used his extra money to donate food to children from unprivileged families in his community. Increasingly people started to join this charity event, and he felt respected by local residents. Now, For him, there is no great happiness than doing good.

Indeed, people using the money for themselves is a right, and nothing can be blamed. As an old saying goes, “Enough is as good as a feast.” Extra possession can not bring us true happiness. Numerous middle-class people drive fancy cars, wear luxury clothes, and live in well-oriented houses but rarely feel happy. Their vehicles are good enough compared with those on the street, but if a brand-new series of cars are released, they feel miserable since they cannot afford it. Therefore, their greed always overruns what they own, leaving no happiness and satisfaction.

In a nutshell, in order to obtain more happiness, spending the extra money on charity or doing good is undoubtedly a wiser choice for the reasons discussed above.