Whether sports or social activities should receive equal financial support as libraries and classes at universities and colleges

When it comes to whether sports or social activities should receive equal financial support as libraries and classes at universities and colleges, different people may have different views. I personally think that sports or social activities shall receive equal financial support as libraries and classes. I would demonstrate two important reasons as follows.

First, students at colleges or universities shall be offered chances to learn curial social skills. This means that students shall not always spend their time in classrooms or libraries. Joining sports competitions or social activities are equally important. By joining these competitions or activities with other people, students learn how to cooperate, communicate with others, the skills which are among the necessary skills for one to be mature and to be successfully adapted to the society. It’s clear that the skills can't be learned from class assignments or books in the libraries. Thus universities and colleges shall be financially supported to offer their students the chances to learn these important skills.

Second, since there are too much universities and colleges nowadays and most of them face serious competitions for attracting students, it important to find a way to catch the eyes of the future students and to get them enrolled in. The simplest way is to let the future students see that beside classes, the universities and colleges have a lot of extracurricular activities to join and the students will have a color life by joining these activities. That’s way enough fund shall be acquired for supporting universities’ and colleges’ sports and social activities.

Third, although one may argue that universities or colleagues shall not be offered too much money to support students to attend extracurricular activities because they should focus more on curriculums which teach student serious but useful subjects from different fields. However, we shall not forget that students who volunteered to do social activities (such as charity works) or win sport competitions (like baseball games) may bring good reputations to the universities or colleagues, and the good reputations will in turn bring enough donations which then universities or colleagues may spend on improving its curriculums.

Above all are the reasons why I think that certainly sports or social activities shall not be ignored and shall receive equal financial support as libraries and classes of the universities and colleges.