Which one is more important, keeping old friends or making new friends

There is an old saying that goes “no man is an island”. We all understand the importance of friends. But when being ask the question of which one is more important, keeping old friends or making new friends? Different people may have different thoughts. In my opinion, making new friends is certainly more important than keeping old ones. I will present several reasons in the following paragraphs.

First, by making new friends, we can easily found answers to questions and make our works much easier. Sometimes we may encounter problems that are not related to what we have majored in school or which are not our fields. By making new friends who have different expertise and different majors, we can easily found someone to ask and to further help us solving the problems. Take myself for example. I have many friends and I like to make new friends. Recently I was praised by my boss for being the one who can always solve different types of problems. It is not because I am smart, but because I have many friends as my consultants.

Second, by making new friends, we have chances to develop different kinds of interests and benefit ourselves. Different kinds of people may have different kinds of interests. Some people may like gardening, some people may like singing, and there are also some people who like jogging. By getting along with different kinds of people and making them our friends, we may have chances to explore many things and make ourselves a live a better life. My sister told me that she has lost a lot of weight recently since she met David, her new friend who likes to exercise and always pushing her to exercise with him. She said that she is thankful to him because she lives a much healthier live now.

Third, new friends help us to expand our social network and make our lives more colorful. By meeting new people and spending time with them, we can share the knowledge they have, listen to various kinds of stories, and learn from a lot of life experiences. Although some people may argued that we can still share, listen to or learn the things mentioned above from our old friends thus it’s not true that making new friends is much more important than keeping old ones, however these people forget that a limited number old friends means a limited number of stories to listen, knowledge or life experiences to share.

Above all, new friends make our works easier, make us develop different kinds of interests, and expand our social network and make us lead a colorful life. That’s why for me making new friends is certainly more important than keeping old ones.