Which of the following measures would make a city safer?

①Hiring more police officers and getting them properly trained to serve the public

②Increasing the number of rehab facilities to help people quit using illegal drugs

③Improving educational facilities to prevent children from dropping out of

When it comes to the security of modern society, many people believe that the Police Bureau should really consider hiring more police officers to serve the public. Not being careful in our daily life is a huge error. Well, I believe that first of the three options is more helpful in making the city safer.

First things first, police officers help maintain order and peace. Take thievery as an example. Can you prevent thievery from happening? No of course not! However, if police officers go on duty, such things will get more and more rare. Well I am not saying that things will never happen, but as a symbol of security, police officers can handle the situation efficiently. However, if you take a look at the two options, they are really no use. Are every single people sick every day to eat drugs? No of course not! In addition, in China specifically, dropping schools are very rare. Dropping schools are not in accord to our will.

Second, police officers can ensure our lives to be safe ones. They have the opportunity to save lives. You often find yourself in states where you can save someone's life. It might be a life-and-death situation, maybe like pulling a victim out of a crashed car, or providing first aid and life support to a shooting victim. However, other than these obvious examples, your mere presence might save countless lives. Every speedy train you ride, every incident of extreme violence you respond to, every fight you break up, are all worth it, at least to the police officers.

Last but not least, the police officers are choice makers. One of the most satisfying part of working as an officer is the opportunity of showing these addicts, gangs, or thieves a better way. We all have in mind the lists of heroic deeds they’ve done every single day, and we must support them. They are the true role models in the modern society.

All in all, I personally support the first option. We have the police. These are the people that bring peace, safety, and order.