Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should give primary school students (aged5-10) no more than 30 minutes' homework because they've already got enough instructions from school in the days.

When it comes to the best ways the primary school children should be taught, people often have their own judgement. While lots of people believe that doing lots of homework has detrimental, even horrible effects on children, there are still people holding the opinion that teachers should give students more that 30 minutes of homework. As far as I am concerned, teachers should not give students piles of homework, and my reasons are as below.

First things first, childhood is the best time for children to develop social skills and find their real talents. Assigning piles of homework is not great way to intensively discover their interests. On the other hand, if less homework is assigned, they will find their talents and fields they like more. They have lots of time to participate in sport and art programs. Playing allows children to socialize with other children to improve their communication skills through playing together. Later on, they can even find out that they have an extremely astounding ability in certain areas and subjects in life.

Secondly, doing a “myriad” of homework will cause a loses in motivation to work hard in school. Kids often don’t have the patience to sit their there and concentrate on doing extremely difficult and dull homework while being unhappy about not having time to play. As a consequence, students will lose their autonomy in doing it, which simultaneously makes them hate school. Have you seen any classmates around you that can stand the burdensome task of calculating 100 math questions a day.

Last but not least, it is useless to do a plethora of homework, rather than using this time to review the knowledge points involved in these tasks. Reviewing, as a matter of fact, is a crucial tool for the primary school children, since there may be an exam coming up every month, and reviewing decreases the chance of temporary cramming before the tests. However, you wastes your time on doing repetitive work that almost children always hate.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that teachers should not assign tons of homework that increases pressure on children. Teachers really shouldn’t force children to complete homework that even they don’t want to complete.