Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: Getting advice from older friends is more valuable than from friends of the same age as yours.

Commonly, many people tend to turn to their friends for advice when faced with difficulties or options. Some people prefer to get suggestions from older friends, while others consider advice from friends of the same age more valuable. In my opinion, I would like to seek advice from older friends. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

For starters, older friends typically obtain more experience than me; they know more about the world and learn many lessons from their previous experience. Therefore, they are more perceptive and can provide more insightful advice. My own experience is a compelling model of that. I had no idea about which major to choose before entering the university. One of my friends, Julie, who was 25 at that time, told me that the best option is to choose a major that could balance the need of the job market and the interest at the same time because she found her major was unwelcome in the labour market. Under her advice, I majored in law, which interests me in that it allows me to explore rules of the society. Also, law students receive a relatively high salary after graduation on average. As a result, now I have a satisfying job in an elite law firm, which brings me a sense of achivement, and am paid more than most of my peers. This example shows that older friends can increase you possibility of achieving success by reminding you the potential risks and pitfalls.

Besides, people older than me are more likely to consider a problem more deeply and thoroughly; they can take many factors, which may be ignored by me, into consideration. For example, I hesitated when deciding which city to work last year. An older friend suggested that all elements like the weather, living expenses, job opportunities, and the social circle should be taken into account. In contrast, my roommate only said she would like to move to the city with rich entertainment and beautiful views. If the older friend had not offered that suggestion, I would have randomly selected a city which sounded attractive without weighing advantages and disadvantages. From this instance we can see older friends provide a different and valuable perspective to solve problems.

Admittedly, friends of the same age share more common topics with me and better understand my emotions. However, they lack ability to objectively evaluate my strengths and weaknesses. Additionally, sometimes they cannot persuade me because I do not believe their ideas are superior to mine.

Based on the reasons stated above, I believe advice from older friends are more valuable and practical than from friends of the same age because older friends have an edge in knowledge and experience over me.