Which of the following technological developments has had the greatest impact on students’ lives? (S/W)

A. digital books

B. online classes

C. smartphones

There is no doubt that all these technologies have contributed to students’ academic lives to some degree. However, I believe that by far the most significant influence have had online classes. The possibility to study remotely brings both convenience and comfort to the educational process, making it more effective.

Undoubtedly, electronic books and smartphones have eased the educational process. The integration of these tools has facilitated the educational process, making the search for information faster and more extensive. In the past, the amount of information was limited to the number of print textbooks in a student’s bag, yet now this amount is infinite. Students can read digital books both offline and online, especially if they have a smartphone with an access to the Internet.

Nevertheless, distant learning has made education even more convenient than the other two technologies because it has become more flexible. This means that students can study without interrupting the process from anywhere in the world provided that there is the access to the Internet. For example, when my family and I were in another country, I had distance learning, and I had to study online. This advantage of learning remotely has had a remarkable impact on students’ lives.

Equally important, it is the comfort that is conjugated with such a format of academic process. Online classes are comfortable in the way that they do not require commuting. Unless a school at a walking distance, students need to go by public transport, which is often unreliable, so this may result in students’ absenteeism. This not the reason for missing classes done online, though. For instance, due to the COVID pandemic, people have had to switch to remote training. I think it is much more comfortable than full-time training in the school since I did not have to get up early and go there.

Overall, it appears that many students are becoming more and more accustomed to distance learning as they find it more comfortable and it meets their own interests.