Which one do you prefer? Why? 1) a company offering you a job with challenging and interesting projects but less vacation days or 2) another company offering you a job that is not so challenging and interesting but has more vacation days.

In the modern era, each individual's job plays a prominent role in his life. Jobs are supposed to pacify various needs and increase life satisfaction among people. There has been a long debate about traits of a good job but this term has been vague for a long time. The controversial question which arises here is whether it is more beneficial to have a challenging job with less vacation days or it is more convenient to have a boring job which offers you more holidays. Although the second choice might seem tempting, I would definitely prefer to have an interesting job with less vacation days. In what follows, two elaborate reasons will vindicate my standpoint.

The first vital point to bear in mind is that having a demanding job gives me a great sense of self-efficacy. If I face various perplexing problems in my job and I can thrive to solve them, I will believe that I am beneficial for my company. This notion can have many fruitful effects. Self-confidence is noticeably affected by self-efficacy. On the other hand, the boring job will fail to satisfy my needs. If I am given a rudimentary task to do, I can easily lose my motivation and leave the job. According to a famous motivation theory, two types of motivations exist. The first group which are called motivators can increase satisfaction, however, the second group which are known as Hygienes can only decrease discontent. Having extended period of vacation is a Hygiene which cannot eradicate the detrimental effects of having an interesting job. To be more precise, not only can durable vacations not compensate for lack of need for innovation in a job, but also all the other factors will fail to carry out this task.

The second noteworthy reason is that since I am an extroverted person with a great sense of competition, having a challenging job is an indispensable part of my life. I like to compete with other companies in producing new products and thing about ingenious ways of solving a problem twenty-four seven. Moreover, I have a great tendency to work with other people and discuss my opinions. Also, I do believe that this strategy can help me to cultivate my knowledge in order to get promotion. For instance, I used to work in a company for two years and I was a member of an adroit team. Our main responsibility was to develop a software program for the first time. Although this task seemed tormenting, I really enjoyed working with other people and being able to state my opinion in group discussions. Also, these discussions gave the chance to cultivate my knowledge and come up with more sophisticated ideas every time.

To bring everything into conclusion, however it might seem preposterous, I like to have a more challenging vocation even if it has less off-days. This job can provide with great motivation. Moreover, challenging jobs give me the opportunity to make a team and cultivate my knowledge.