Which one do you prefer? Why?

1) a company offering you a job with challenging and interesting projects but less vacation days or

2) another company offering you a job that is not so challenging and interesting but has more vacation days.

By and large, for every adult individual having a job is an essential need in life. One may have either a part time or a full time job. In addition, jobs can be categorized based on their difficulty. As a fact, different factors can affect one's satisfaction with his job. Some people prefer to face challenging and interesting projects in their jobs at the cost of having less vacation days. However, some people look at this issue through a different lens and prefer to have a job with more vacation days although the projects may not be so challenging and interesting. From my vantage point, the latter belief is true. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most outstanding reasons.

First off, it goes without saying that in such a sophisticated word where people's life style has changed and many of them are experiencing a hectic life, releasing stress and tension is of great importance. One way to do so, is going on trips and having some time off the job environment. In case an individual is intensively involved with his job and projects related to it, so that he cannot have enough vacation, the possibility of getting depressed would increase significantly. As a case in point, recently I read a psychological research. The researchers conducted an interview with successful businessmen, the data revealed that a host of them have regular and several vacations during a year. Therefore, this finding can at least partly explain why having sufficient vacation is an index of advancing in a given job.

Another equally significant reason is that, one of the main expectations of an employee, is having adequate efficiency at work. At first glance, challenging and interesting projects seem motivational factors. This might be true on the condition that the employees get the chance to have enough vacation considering the difficulties of their jobs. In long run, lack of vacation days would significantly decrease the efficiency, no matter how much the projects are interesting and challenging. In my own personal experience, I was involved in a project related to the optics field which seemed extremely exciting to me. In the first three months I was working so hard and had cancelled many vacations in order to achieve the results and finish the project sooner. Unfortunately, gradually I got tired and my eagerness turned into disappointment and finally I dropped the project. I would continue the project if I had considered a balance between my job and the allocated time to the vacations and having fun.

Finally yet importantly, the role of family in one's life should never be neglected. The main purpose of working is to have a better life alongside our families and friends. Vacation days are great opportunities to hang out and spend some time with them. Moreover, family can be a great source of positive energy and helps to reduce the stress resulted from job pressure. Consequently, reducing the vacation days would damage the family bonds and inversely affect the efficiency at job. More in detail, the statistics show that those employees who take advantage of vacations and establish a close relationship with their families and friends, are happy, creative ,and have a high tendency to follow and finish their assignments and duties at work.

To wrap it up, a job with more vacation days and less challenging and interesting projects has several priorities over those ones which offer challenging and interesting projects along with less vacation days. Releasing stress and tension, increasing the efficiency at work, and getting the chance to spend enough time with family and friends are some of the reasons which make me to incline toward choosing a job with more vacation days and less interesting projects. However, it was a story in a nutshell; It is highly recommended that a survey be conducted in order to shed light on other aspects of the importance of the relation between the job quality, the difficulty level of the projects and vacation days.