Which one do you think is the most important for high school teacher (age from 15 to 18)?

1. the ability to give students advice to plan for their future;

2. the ability to find which students need help and provide them with help;

3. the ability to encourage students to learn on themselves outside of the classroom;

In high school, what abilities teachers posses is of great significance because it helps students to mold their character, develop their studying habits, have a promising future, get better grades, etc. Although everyone considers a specific skill as a foundation to become a good high school teacher, I strongly hold the opinion that giving students advice on the future plan should be given top priority for a high school teacher.

The first reason is simple. Rendering suggestions on students can help them better prepare for the future. This is because teachers know more about society and university, they can give specific plans to their students. For example, As for some students, they might begin to work directly after graduating from high school. Teachers can suggest them learn some practical skills so that they are more likely to be hired. As for some students who is about to go to university after graduation, teachers is able to offer some books which are about college’s curriculum so that students can make better preparations to deal with their upcoming university courses. In this way, teachers’ advice helps students to make some advanced preparations.

Instead, finding students who is in need and help them is less important, because it is the duty of every high school teacher. As a teacher, their responsibility is to help to address students’ problems and provide someone who is caught in dilemma. In other words, they are obligated to do it without hesitation. For example, University of California, has required every teacher they hire to provide students who face difficulties with tutor in time, regarding it as a part of teacher’s responsibility that they should assume. In a word, the ability of offering students faced with problems is less important.

Admittedly, encouraging students to take an active part in out-class learning helps them to mold good study habits. Being encouraged to study out of class, students will start to follow their teachers advice and search for some related materials to read. As time goes by, they will take it for granted and insist on it in the further study. In order to assimilate more knowledge, they might attend some lectures or participate in some extracurricular courses themselves. In this way, a desirable studying habit of learning out of classroom is created. However, lacked of the ability of being self-discipline and supervision, some students might give up keeping study out of classroom and have a tendency to utilize this time for fun. Under this circumstance, the ability of inspiring them to undertake out-class learning is not worthy giving priority because it depends on students themselves.

In conclusion, drawing upon the reasons I have mentioned before, I firmly believe that the capacity of helping students manage their future plan should be considered most. While there are one thousand Hamlets in one thousand eyes, I firmly believe my opponents will yield after being shown to my article.