Grades encourage students to learn.

Usually students receive grades from their teachers in the courses they register for, ranging from A to F. An undeniable fact is that a low grade will upset a student and depress their enthusiasm for study, which might mislead some people to generate the idea that students are discouraged by grades. However, this point of view suffers from both logical and factual fallacies. As far as the importance of grades, are concerned, I strongly hold the opinion that grades do motivate students to study.

First, grades are of great importance to students. As a matter of fact, a decent grade can help primary students to gain the allowance from their parents as prize; an excellent grade can help high-school students to enter their dreaming university; an outstanding grade can enable university students to apply for Ivy league univeristy or hunt for their desirable jobs. Thus, for students, since grades can exert a heavy influence on their future, they are actually encouraged by grades. My personal experience is a compelling example of it. The last time when I was about to apply for the graduate program in United States, I sufted the Duke university's website and found that my dreaming program had a high requirement of applicants' GPA. In other words, only the one whom got a high GPA in his or her current university is likely to gain an offer from Duke. Thus, for the sake of being enrolled by Duke, I decided to take my every course seriously so that I could get satisfying grades eventually, exercising after class, asking professors for help with my assignments during office hours and actively involving in group projects. Thanks to the hard work, I successfully got desirable grades eventually and thus improved my GPA.

Second, grades can stimulat students to work hard based on their self-esteem. Granted, sometimes a low grade like F actually does disappoint students and thus curb their motivation for learn. However, this is a short-term phenomenon in that in the long run, for purpose of not being shamed by such low grade or being jorked by their peers because of it, students can bounce back from initial disappointment and devote themselves more into study. Take myself, a ordinary university student, as an example. When I was a freshman, hardly did I took my study seriously, being chained to dorm to play computer games and watch videos on the Tiktok for the whold day, while my roommates spend considerable amount of time in libraries for learning. Because of my casual attitude, I never showed up in the group study and attended the lecture. As a result, I only got 'F' in most of courses while my roommates gained "Excellent" in every course because of his hard work. I was shamed by the large gap between my roommates and I. Therefore, in the next semester, in order not to lag far behind my roommates or even go beyond him, I studied to mid-night, took notes in lectures and frequently raised questions in lectures, which enabled me to get "A" in every course.

In conclusion, it is the grades that inspire students to dedicate more energy and time into study.