Which one of the following do you think is the best way to get to know a city in a limited amount of time when you first visit it?

-touring historic sites

-going to markets or shops

-eating in restaurant and spending time in cafes

Traveling is the greatest to understand this spectacular world. There are many different types of methods to explore a city, like going to markets or shops or eating in a restaurant. In my opinion, I would choose to tour historic sites.

First of all, I could broaden my vision by touring historic sites because I could never experience these magnificent remains before. My previous experience would be a suitable example. When I was an undergraduate, I often went to many diverse foreign cities, like Berlin, which had extremely affluent historic relics. Because I was a historical enthusiast of World War two, I was greatly excited about this travel. With my friends, we went to the German Congress established in 1894 and experienced a good deal of imperative events, like the German revolution in 1918. When I arrived at this astonishing site, I could immerse myself in this historical atmosphere and discuss many events happening in there, like the rise and fall of the German Empire. In contrast, if I chose to go shipping or eating, I would not be able to understand these highly precious historic sites.

Second, I could make some local friends having the same interest in history, such as the Great Depression in 1929. Take my previous experience as an example. When I was an undergraduate, I once went to Munich and visit its city hall which had several hundreds of history. There, I met lots of Germans living in Bayern state. Because I was a history lover, they would discuss many historical events with me, such as World War two, which affected Germany a lot. Moreover, we also tour Munich to visit many attractions, like BMW headquarter, which was established in 1916. With them, I could understand how the war and the economic depression affected German history. By contrast, if I chose to go shipping or eating, I would not be capable of having the opportunity to know these foreign friends.

To sum up, these are the two reasons why I chose to tour historic sites to know a city. On one hand, we could broaden our vision by experiencing these spectacular relics. On the other hand, we could also know some friends through visiting these magnificent remains.