Which one of the following do you think is the best way to get to know a city in a limited amount of time when you first visit it? Touring historic sites; going to markets or shops; eating in restaurants or spending time in cafes.

Wandering around a city, the first-time visitor can be completely dazed and lost. Provided the time is limited and we want to know the city in the best way possible, we can choose various different approaches. Some people may think of visiting museums, while others would prefer to visit local markets and restaurants. Well, personally, if I were to choose one option among all these preferences, I would like to opt for visiting the local eating or dining place because visiting historical sites and markets could be time-consuming. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into two main reasons and their examples that substantiate my stance.

First, by having your meal at the local restaurants we can get acquainted to local people there, who can guide us to visit the city in a best way. They can help us shortlist the famous places that are worth visiting. They can highlight the specialty or what their place is famous for. As a result, we could utilise our time efficiently and get to know the best people in less time. When I ventured on a trip to south India, we just had a month to explore all the places, and I was really confused about which place to visit first. When I visited a local cafe there and interacted with the local people and waiters, I got the right direction to start my journey. Hence, according to this experience, I was able to explore the cities with the assistance of people I met at the local café.

Second, you will be able to know about the economic and social life of people living in that city. If they eat and dine quietly, it indicates that they are highly educated and well-mannered. If they relish different cuisines, it means that city consists of immigrants. Also, from the food they serve, we can learn a lot about their history, culture, and traditions. My personal experience is a good case in point. When I visited Maklaudgan, the hotel I stayed in was highly inspired by Chinese culture. When I asked about it to one of the staff, they told me all the history of the kingdom of Mongols that built that city.

In conclusion, I would like to reaffirm my viewpoint that it is better to prefer to visit any local eating place rather than wasting your time at markets and traditional sites. To recapitulate, while eating at local places, we can get enough knowledge about the local as well as traditional cultures. In addition to this, we can also judge the economic and social condition of the area while talking to native citizens. Therefore, due to the aforementioned factors, visiting a local restaurant for dining is the best way to explore a particular city.