The widespread use of the internet has given people access to information on a level never experienced before. How does this increase in the availability of information influence life in today's world

The Internet's appearance was one biggest advancements in our society. For the first time in history of mankind, entire world was truly connected and the information was exchanged freely. The three main ways, that vast amount of available information has affected modern life are: education, news and our attention spans.

Education has always been rather expensive luxury for the majority of human history and high level education was only available to select few. However, appearance of internet has changed the situation quite a bit. While formal education can still be expensive, the knowledge that those institutions provide is freely available on the internet. As long as one has access to the internet, they can learn almost anything if they are devoted enough. Without the guidance and the assistance provided by the educational institutions it is much harder and less efficient, however the fact that such option exists is huge change in itself.

The internet has allowed us to not only access existing information, but to exchange new information faster than ever. Thanks to the portable devices, we have access to the news about everything happening all around the world almost instantly. As long as there is at least one person with the information, potentially the whole world has access to it as well. Obviously, because of how easy it is to spread news and information, not all of it is true and making sure that you get the correct information is another problem in itself.

While having access to the almost endless stream of information can be extremely beneficial, caution is necessary, as our generation is facing a rather serious problem because of it. Our brains get so used to constant stream of information that it has affected out attention spans. Unless we provide our brains with new information and content, we get bored very fast, even if the information is not useful or even entertaining. This means that doing even very simple tasks that requires a little bit of focus can become very hard to perform. We are slowly becoming addicted to the information.

Overall, the internet has revolutionized the way we can get education and how we access the news and see world. But it has also changed the way we live our every moment and how we crave more information.