At work or school, you might encounter a problem that requires creativity – for example, you are given a task to complete that is very different from other tasks you do. In work or school situation that requires you to think creatively, would you prefer to work alone or with others? Why?

In this progressive and sophisticated world, being creative is one of the most central needs of human beings which should be fulfilled in order to improve the quality of life. This necessity can be satisfied during performing challenging projects and tasks at either school or workplace. While many people hold the opinion that teamwork enhances people`s productivity, others believe that by thinking and working individually the creativity will increase. As far as I am concerned, I agree with the latter perspective and prefer to work in solitude for obtaining creativity. The reasons to substantiate my point of view are elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, I am of the opinion that the main cause which assists humans to be creative during carrying out new tasks is being able to concentrate and focus on the topic. To be more specific, giving the entire attention to something through being in a private place, one can achieve productivity. For example, when I was at university, I usually performed my projects with a group of my friends. Although we had a great time together, since we spent a large amount of our time talking to each other, no one was able to concentrate and provide the group with novel and creative ideas. As a result, there was no creativity in our projects, whereas, when I was working on my thesis at the last year of university, owing to spending most of my time at the library working on the project solely, the result was overly different from other projects I had done collectively. Being able to concentrate effectively on the topic without any type of disturbance by the presence of other people, I got a great grade and my thesis was awarded as the best final project among numerous students. Had I not been provided with an opportunity to focus on the topic in solitude, I would have not been able to accomplish that great sense of achievement.

Moreover, working with a group, one might become overly dependent on other people and loses creativity. To put it in other word, when people work as a team, due to the fact that there are some other people who will lead the group, and provide members with creative ideas, members mostly may not challenge their brain, and as time passes they will lose this natural ability. My intimate friend`s experience is a compelling example of this notion. She told me that when she started working, since during the university she regularly carried out her projects within a group, her brain had become overly weak, and it got accustomed to doing simple tasks. Consequently, when her supervisor assigned her a different task which required her to think creatively, she had difficulty doing that, and it took her a great deal of time to make her brain fresh and powerful again. If she had done her university projects by herself, she would have not suffered from not being able to perform her tasks at the workplace.

In conclusion, having all the aforementioned reasons and examples into account, I strongly prefer to encounter my difficulties individually. This is because it enables me to not only be able to concentrate better and obtain the result I desire, but also to get rid of possessing a weak brain.