It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours

It is no secret that having flexible working hours has played a prominent role in choosing the proper vocation. Due to its paramount importance, people have tried to elevate their productivity while they are at work by adjusting their working hours. Although some might keep up the idea that working for three days for long hours is a better choice, I firmly contend that working five days a week with shorter hours is a better idea. To substantiate my point of view, the following paragraphs represent a cursory at the most outstanding reasons.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that working for fewer hours but more days is undoubtedly effective on worker’s productivity, increasing his outcome at the office. To put it in other words, an person’s productivity diminishes each hour he works, getting tired from all the mental or physical activities; however, working for more days is not a significant problem because a worker has more time to relax when gets home every day. My personal experience is a compelling example of this notion. About two years ago, I worked in a company that its employees were able to adjust their working time themselves, but it was obligatory that each employee must work at least 15 hours a week. At first, I scheduled to work seven and a half hours every Monday and Thursday; so, I was tremendously tired, getting back from work, and I could not process any new information after three hours working. Hence, I decided to change my schedule to work for three hours a day for five days. This approach aided me in being more productive, working, and that after-work tiredness surprisingly disappeared. This change would not have happened if I had stuck to my previous plan of working.

The second reason coming to mind is working five days a week for shorter hours will improve workers’ mental health, causing them to be more relaxed and less stressed. It is crystal clear the more an employee is at his office, the more he is under mental pressure owing to various work-related issues. This pressure has an adverse influence on a person’s health condition significantly; thus, he should plan to work for fewer hours a day to have time to relax his mind for the next day. A research carried out recently has underscored the fact that eighty percent of workaholics are suffering from severe physical and mental illnesses, having worked until the late hours of the day and faced different types of stress perpetually. Had these mentioned workaholics worked for proper hours a day, they would not have endangered their health condition, and tranquility will fill their lives.

To be short, all the reasons lead us to the fact that each person must pay heed to adjust his time, working at the office, and avoids working for longer hours to have more free days. That is because this approach not only decreases a person’s productivity but also harms his mental health.