Is it more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours

It is no secret that having flexible working hours has played a prominent role in choosing the proper vocation. Due to its paramount importance, individuals have tried to elevate their productivity while they are at work by adjusting their working hours. Although some might maintain the idea that working for three days for long hours is a better choice, I firmly contend that working five days a week with shorter hours is a much better idea. To substantiate my point of view, the following paragraphs represent a cursory at the most outstanding reasons.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that working for long hours in a day is discernibly effective on a person’s productivity. To put it in other words, an employee will get much tired when he works for long hours; consequently, he will not be as productive as he could be when he works for a reasonable amount of time in a day. My personal experience is a compelling example of this notion. I worked in a company two years ago that we had to work for 15 hours a week, no matter when we were at the company, all we had to do was working for 15 hours during a week. I decided to work 5 hours a day in three days to fulfill my commitment to the company, but I got unbelievably tired in the last 2 hours of days that I worked. Therefore, I decided to adjust my working hours in a more descent way, and I worked for 3 hours a day in 5 days. My productivity enhanced, I was not tired even a little bit at the end of the day. It is evident that working for shorter hours but more days influences the individual’s productivity exceptionally.

The second reason coming to mind is that people should be more involved with their work to prevent getting bored. To be more specific, they should work for more days, no matter how many hours a day, to be busier to escape from being at home and have probable challenges with their family members. To shed light on this issue, an example will illustrate this viewpoint much better. My father decided to decrease his working days in exchange for increasing his working hours during a day; therefore, this approach gave him more time to spend with family. He was at home on Monday and Tuesday and Wednesday. At first, everything was fine, but suddenly, my parents face some challenges in doing house chores due to their different styles of solving a problem. My father did not pay heed to my mother’s comment about cooking and other kinds of stuff. Although they wanted to do the same things, their different styles made them argue all the time. Hence, my father decided to go back to his former working hours to avoid arguing with my mother at home. The more he was busy at work, the more our home was filled with tranquility and serenity.

To be short, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the fact that working for shorter hours but more days is more proper option. This is because not only workers’ productivity will elevate, but also they get less bored when they spend more days at work.