Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long.

Generally there are two types of work: one contains tasks in various field, while another only require people to focus on the same thing. Some argue that the former is better since it may allow people to explore more posibility about their ability. However, considering the effectiveness and the work-life balance, I believe more people would prefer the latter.

First of all, focusing on the similar tasks would be helpful to improve one's effectiveness. Our humans are required some period of time to learn and remember new staffs, especially when one first to handle challanges. Therefore, it is inpreventive for people to make mistakes in their first try. The result is the decline of performance, or even productivity. An appropriate example is not very far to seek. For instance, when I was a student, I had to switch among different subjects during my classday. However, what really happened is that I easily forgot what I have learned just minutes ago, thus greatly declined my grade. After few years, I found that I could only concertrate on one subject each time, and this really helpful since I could put myself into the world of that subject, and was not perturbed by surroudings. It gave me more confidence that I definitely able to remember the new knowledge. Therefore, I got a huge improvement since then.

Moreover, handling with similar taks would contribuate to a work-life balance. This is because one can wield his previous knowledge to deal with a similar work, and reduce the time that one needed to familiar with the new task. If workers could finish his daily tasks quickly, he can earlier to go home and would have longer period to accompancy with his family. In addition, suppose one is really ensuiastic in learning new knowledge to fulfill his curiosity, the fallow time after working is more suitable for this task. Because he at that period would perform in a mood, instead of a annoy mood when one is just working.

To sum up, doing the same thing during the working time would reduce the potential mistakes, improve the effectiveness, and provide a better work-life balance. Therefore, this would consider as a better choice for most people.