You are about to choose between two professors who will be teaching a course that you must take at your university. If the following statements are the only information available to you about the differences between the two professors, which professor would you choose?

(1) One professor was voted most popular in a survey of students about their teachers.

(2) One professor has just been given an award for outstanding research.

People often hold different ideas about school teaching. As for me, I believe that one professor who was voted most popular in a survey of students is better for me. Here are two reasons to support my claim.

First of all, I think the most popular professor means that he might teach students in a more interesting way. To be more specific, when I attend the class, he might create a fun learning method in class. For example, during my freshman year, my English teacher, John, asked us to prepare a presentation about my hometown. Surprisingly, he wanted us to introduce our hometown to strangers instead of our classmates. What's more, we even needed to record our sounds to make sure whether our pronunciation was correct or not. Apparently, the whole process was very fun. On the other hand, if I pick the professor with an award for outstanding research, the class will be very boring. That is, the professor might focus too much on academic performance. For instance, he might also ask us to introduce our hometown, but we must write it into an essay. That means we need to be careful about details and can't interact with new friends. Apparently, the teaching approach for me is not intriguing at all.

Secondly, I think the most popular teacher means that he is willing to solve problems. That is to say, when I face challenges, he might be happy to help me to solve the problems. For instance, once again; during my freshman year, I took a hard C++ coding course. I got a worse score during my midterm exam, and I was almost done. However, my professor passionately taught me how to code more easily after the class. Furthermore, he even gave me some extra coding references for free. Evidently, my professor always helped me without rewards. However, if the teacher has just been given an award for his research, he might barely have time to help me. To elaborate, he will emphasize his advanced research more to let more people know him. Besides, he might even think that those basic questions are too easy for him to waste time on me. As a result, my questions will never and ever be solved.

To sum up, based on my reasons above, I still prefer to choose the professor that was voted the most popular in a students' survey. After all, I like to study more interestingly. Besides, I also emphasize whether the teacher is willing to help students.