You are planning to donate money to a charity and want it to have a major impact on people. Should you donate to a small local group or to a large international organization?

Donation funds to non-profit organizations are an integral part of people's life that become mandatory for human beings. While some people prefer to donate money to huge multinational companies, I choose to use the money to a charity to a small local group that could be used for practical purposes. This option allows me to understand how these local associations will use money. Moreover, I can directly see my contribution to a neighborhood and influence the small company's philanthropy policy.

Clearly, it is important to donate money to a small local group and not avoid it because these organizations care about the local society. For example, Hopelink is a charity organization in the state of Washington. A group of altruists from Redmond, Bellevue, and Kirkland founded this company. I dare say that their social work helps improve the East Side of Seattle with many projects, such as employment services for the homeless and orphans, food banks, and shelters for vulnerable groups of people.

At the same token, it is essential to control a tiny local group how they manage funds and use all opportunities to support people from their community. A striking example is the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) in the United States, where you can have access to all tax returns from each non-profit organization with all details of how they used their budget. Nevertheless, it would be unwise to deny that the best practice is to use only 15 percent on salary and bonuses to employees. On the IRS website that opens for citizens, people could control this fact.

Alternatively, tremendous international non-for-profit organizations are an excellent example of generosity in a charity, and we should not avoid this option. No doubt, these companies could use money effectively, not only for the local community but also for the whole world. The Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation is an excellent example of a large company that does not reject vital programs. This organization uses transparent accounting and has projects worldwide. Along with that, it could be challenging to realize your contribution to their projects' results.

In the final analysis, it appears that it would be better to donate money to a charity to a small local group because it will significantly impact on people. We could recognize many advantages of this decision, such as helping local people with relevant services, providing transparency with the funds, and contributing to regional projects.