You have long been friends with someone If they do something that you don t like should you still be friends with him or her

Without a shadow of a doubt, friendships are of the essence, especially when it comes to having a peaceful lifestyle. An unanswered question in this area is whether we should continue our relationship with an old friend who does something not being according to our desire. Despite arguments asserting that we never taste our old mutually respectful relationships again, and we must end our relationship as soon as possible, I believe otherwise, maintaining that keeping old friendships must prioritize our preferences. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint through two compelling reasons.

The first exquisite point corroborating my stance on this subject is that given the

time-consuming nature of establishing new friendships which will become long-term, we should maintain our old friendship alive. Old friends are familiar with our difficulties and sorrows, and this process has taken many years. In retrospect, we can remember unpleasant and difficult situations having been overcome by assistance or consultation of these friends. New friends would not be able to suggest practical solutions which are compatible with our circumstances. Furthermore, due to having prolonged interactions, we have developed some common interests and amusements that someone else will not like. Therefore, it is worthful to keep our long-term friendships.

Another reason to be mentioned is that we should learn to accept different attitudes and standpoints due to existing differences between individuals. Psychologically speaking, each event and experience affects our personality and beliefs, which make each person unique. Thanks to the advancement of technology and the modern era’s complexity, individuals are influenced by multiplicity viewpoints and attitudes, and the growth of these differences is boosted. Therefore, we must understand that we cannot find people always behaving based on our desires. On the other hand, our old friends are more likely to meet our expectations because they intentionally avoid trivial frictions and issues. For instance, although Hossein, my closest and oldest friend, is not punctual, he always arrives on time for our meetings.

Reflecting upon all the reasons mentioned above, someone realizes that old friends are our invaluable assets, and we should not destroy our long-lasting relationships.