'Young people enjoy life more than older people.' Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Although, one's age has no bearing on how much one can enjoy life, I disagree with the statement, “Young people enjoy life more than older people do.”

Old people have much more time on their hands. Even though, most people in their post-retirement life do take up small projects or minor jobs, they are not very busy. They do not need to apply for a leave. They don’t need to decide whether to attend a colleague’s daughter’s wedding or to go on a leisure trip across Eastern Europe, they can quite easily manage both. Time is not a constraint for them.

Young people have a lot of stress in their lives. They need to make themselves financially secure, and for that they need to put a lot of effort and time into their jobs. They have a lot of expenses to deal with too, lots of loans on their heads. The stress of paying the monthly rent alone can take a toll on an individual. In such a scenario, even if one manages to escape to the shores of the Pacific physically, can one escape these stresses mentally? I don’t think so. Older people can not only afford to carry themselves to such beautiful locations physically, but they can also keep themselves free from the hassles of life mentally.

Coming to the most important point - Children. This is the biggest advantage that older people have over younger ones. Their kids are all grown up and settled. Unlike their younger counterparts, they don’t have to attend school functions. They don’t have to drive their kids to some sort of practice everyday. They don’t have to fit their holiday plans to match with their kid’s vacations. Older people don’t have to budget their holidays so that they can finance their children’s college education.

As one gets older, one truly discovers oneself. We understand what we would enjoy the most and we crave for it. I don’t think there can be any better feeling than that of crossing something off of one’s bucket list, and let’s be honest, we all have one, we just don’t know it yet, because we’re young and stupid.