in your country, there is more need for land to be left in its natural condition or is there more need for land to be developed for housing and industry?

Human has long utilized land for centuries to serve multiple purposes. Seeing the economical benefits of the land, people in my country tend to develop it for housing and industrial purposes. However, I personally believe that land should be left in its natural state because it has an effect on natural disasters, environmental pollution, and animal protection.

First and foremost, developing land to build houses brings natural disasters to the surrounding areas. When land is exploited at an alarming rate, deforestation brings in catastrophes and many other severe weather conditions. Forests slow down the flow of floods, which decrease the flood damages. Since tree hold sediments in the land, during a big storm, water is less likely to flood the lower areas. Moreover, sand excavation appears more and more popular, which create negative impacts on people’s lives. Because excavating sand often create landslides, this pose a threat to people and their properties. Indeed, if land is not kept in its original state, natural disaster will appear more often.

Secondly, when land is heavily exploited for farming or industrial purposes, environmental pollution will spike. One of the big changes to the environment is air pollution. Since trees create fresh air through photosynthesis process, they greatly improve air quality. Trees can filter out dust, smoke, and many other particles in the air. As a result, cutting down forests increase air pollution. In addition, buildings increase greenhouse effect, which contributes to global warming. Specifically, since sunlight shines on buildings, windows reflect back to the ground that makes the temperature twice as hot. By and large, air pollution will increase significantly if the land cannot be kept in its primary state.

Finally, leaving land at its natural condition can protect the animals that thrive on that land. Since land provides shelter for animals, developing land for housing and constructions would greatly reduce living areas of these animals. Some people hunt down wild animals, forcing them to move out of their natural habitat. Others cut down trees, causing animals such as deers or bears have nowhere to live that they have to move to completely new areas. Although some can adapt well, many are unable to survive in the new environment. Human and industries take away not only living land but also food source of the animals. When animals cannot find foods and water, they might have to eat trash. Eating filthy trash makes them sick and even die. Indeed, developing land for housing or industries reduces the animals’ living areas and food source.

In conclusion, land should be left at its original state in order to reduce natural catastrophes, environmental pollution, and animal endangerment. Therefore, it is important to develop a sustainable plan to bring out benefits of the land while conserving it.