“Your family and friends are encouraging you to buy a new car. What are some benefits and downsides of purchasing a brand new vehicle? Explain your thoughts using examples.”

Cars are one of the most popular vehicles in the world. Buying a car is the purpose and dream of many people. Purchasing a new vehicle presents many problems, but there are also benefits to it.

First and foremost, cars or other vehicles bring benefits to the owner. Latest vehicles are likely to be equipped to the most advanced technology. Since multimedia and navigation interfaces are continuosly evolving and improving, owning a vehicle will make people’s lives easier and more relaxed. People are able to drive longer distance and get comfortabe in the car thanks to the add-on features including fuel efficiency and speed limit. Moreover, new cars come with a warranty, which creates peace of mind for customers. Most new vehicles will have very minimal repairs within the first few years, the guarantee will help customers grasp their benefits and not waste it. For example, the Toyota sent notices via mail such as airbag failure or engine defect to the customer. In addition, new cars are cleaner than the one is used. In the new car, there are no stains, wears and tears. Meanwhile, used cars can have creases on the interior or scratches outside the car. Indeed, new vehicles bring latest technology, peace of mind and cleanliness to the customers.

Besides, new vehicles also bring many issues to the users. The owner has to pay higher fee if they buy a brand new one than buying a second-hand car. When a consumer purchases a new car, he or she is obligated to pay service fees such as insurance cost or registration fee. Moreover, some people assume that insurance companies apply a higher cost for used car’s owners because used cars are old and more likely to cause accidents. However, car insurance premium is usualy higher for new car owner since modern car apply latest technology, money to replace broken part cost an arm and a leg. Furthermore, the price of the new car is higher than an old one. Since car technology increased quickly, the cost of used cars is also significantly reduced. For example, in 2020, the Honda Civic cost three times higher than in 2018. Therefore, not everyone can afford a new car. Finally, new vehicles are risky to the owner. New vehicles use many newly tested technologies, which bring many risks to users if they have problems. Specifically, if a car is equipped with automatic braking system, it has to work correctly otherwise accident will occur. For instance, in Arizona, the self-driving car crashed a pedestrian without braking before the accident. Therefore, the community raised a concern about the safety of self-driving cars. By and large, the user has to pay higher fee, more expensive price and more risky when owning a brand new vehicle.

In conclusion, new vehicles bring both benefits and downside for the customers. They can approach modern technology, peace of mind and unstained car. However, they have to face against higher fee, pricey vehicle and unsafe journey.