do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to be a member of a group than to be the leader of a group.

Teamwork is one of the most important skills people need to possess. When working in a team, each person plays a different role in the group. Some people want to be the leader while others prefer to be the member. In my opinion, it is better to be the commander of the group because of leadership skill, communication skill, and relationship enhancement.

First and foremost, being the leader improves one’s leadership skill. Sometimes, the leader is allowed to make decisions for the whole group. Since leader is the person who represents the group, he or she can select the solution that that affects the entire group. Leader contributes a big role in influencing and driving the group to the right direction. Moreover, since the leader builds his or her reputation through effective leading and successful planning, other groupmates tend to follow his or her decision. Leader are able to convinve others to go with their plan, there fore building trust with other members over time. Indeed, leading a group allows one to makes decisions and builds reputation in order to influence others.

Secondly, as a leader of a group, people can communicate better. The leader is the person who disseminates the plan for the groupmates. Since the leader knows almost everything about the group, they have to convey their ideas, rules, or plans to others. They need to communicate to their members in order to keep them informed. Furthermore, the leader is the person who represents the group to express their information to others. For example, when debating with other groups, the leader is the person with the greatest responsibilityin negotiating against others. By and large, being the leader creates a change for them to represent the group and convey inportant ideas, making them a skilled communicator.

Finally, being the leader helps people expand their relationship network. As a matter of fact, the leader tends to communicate more with other groups while members usually tackle problems with their groupmates. Since the commander has to talk to more people, their networking expanded over time. In addition, the leader is allowed to divide the team into smaller group. Since the commander has to connect each group with others, they have to talk with all members of the team. Meanwhile, members in each part only work with their teammates in that group. Indeed, the leader has a chance to not only talk to other groupmates but also connect with other people on behalf of the group.

In conclusion, it is better to be the leader than to be the member of a group. The leader’s role improves people’s skill in term of leadership, communication, and networking. It is important for the leader to always learn and inprove their ability to lead the group in harmony.