Your friend has the opportunity to choose either one of two types of majors fields of study which one of the following two majors do you think is a better choice and why A major that would allow him to finish years of study and get a degree sooner so that

Without a shadow of a doubt, attending university plays a pivotal role in finding a decent career in the modern world. An unanswered question in this area is whether it is more beneficial for students to choose short-term majors or majors which provide better job opportunities in the future. Despite the argument asserting that studying a field that guarantees their job in the future is a big investment, I believe otherwise, maintaining that students should graduate as soon as possible. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint through two compelling reasons.

The first exquisite point corroborating my stance on this subject is that studying a short-term major is a wise decision given the unpredictable nature of the modern world. Thanks to the development of technologies, the needs of societies change fast, and many people lose their careers or incomes. On the other hand, those individuals who follow trends constantly could earn a fortune in a short time. For instance, electronic engineering became so popular among students in my country in the last decade, and many students chose that as their major. When these students attained a degree in electronic engineering, winning a job position in this area was so competitive, and former alumni lost their careers. Therefore, students can not predict which occupations will be high-paying and sought-after in the future.

Another reason to be mentioned is that students who graduate faster are more like to enhance their income and position. Having several years of experience is essential for employers to hire job applicants because they want to avoid wasting their time and financial resources on incompetent clerks. Accordingly, if students select short-term majors and start their careers as soon as possible, they can gain experiences and skills that academic institutions do not offer to them in the job environment. For instance, had a friend of mine not studied a short-term economy major, he would not have got a promotion and increased their income.

Reflecting upon all the reasons mentioned above, one soon realizes that selecting majors with shorter years of study is a financially long-sighted decision.