In your opinion, which of the following strategies is the best way for a student to prepare for a successful career?

Studying specific academic subjects

Taking a part-time job

Getting to know other students

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Student life is a very sensitive stage of life. One correct decision, our life becomes piece of cake and one wrong decision, life becomes messed up. If you ask me, I think students can have wonderful career by studying specific academic subjects than by getting a job or consulting other students.

To begin with, taking up course on specific subjects make student skilled in that sector and they can utilize their knowledge in the career development. For instance, after our high school, one of my friends opted for engineering course. He studied rigorously for four years and now he is a skilled bridge designer. Recently, he has been offered a job in a multinational company. On the contrary, I opted for a general course of education and this has made me jack of all trades and master of none.

Secondly, focusing on a specific subject helps students narrow down their job preference and make themselves suitable for the job. For example Stephen Hawking, who chose physics after high school, started searching for the opportunities in the physics sector. He was able to contribute greatly in the sector of quantum physics, all because of his focus and dedication on it specifically. Furthermore, we can take the example of Michael Jackson, who focused solely on music and was thus able to mark himself as a landmark on the music industry of world.

Lastly, student life is certainly time for some serious study not for job or increasing contacts. While some part time jobs and expanding the friend list have immediate benefits, they do not ensure successful career. Part time jobs take up great amount of time of students, which leads to the disruption of their academic life and having many friends also leads to time loss. As time and tide waits for none, recognising the best time for doing things is very necessary and students should indulge themselves in study rather than other jobs.

To sum up, taking up specific course is best option for students as it leads to skill development for future jobs and also to make themselves suitable for the job. Being involved in jobs and increasing a friend circle although has some short term benefits, are not suitable for life long.