The only thing that interferes with my learning is my education- Einstein. What does he mean by that? And do you think he is correct?

There is relevance to this quote by Einstein given that he was a genius who invented many theories that have come to change our world for the better, it is then highly unlikely that he did not know what he was talking about. The essence of education is to learn, but instead what we have today is competition in schools for academic performance. This essay will discuss why education is a barrier to learning.

The traditional way of learning has always been to attend a school, which makes those who miss school seem unlearned. But this is not the case. For example, when we look at how the face of technology has evolved we realize that we have to unlearn what is old and learn what is new. Additionally, education barely teaches the situation in the real world. While in school, we expect to be employment ready but this is not so. We have to learn the trade through experience. Therefore, learning does not come through education but through practical experience.

Education has also been found responsible for killing creativity, it forces everyone to think the same and view the world in the same way. It removes our natural creativity and imagination and dictates for us how to do things whereas, education should enhance our imagination and entrepreneurship. Many successful companies were founded by people who dropped out of college, for instance, Steve Jobs who dropped out of university, founded Apple. All the knowledge he needed for the venture was self-taught. He pursued his passions and achieved success. It is imperative that people pursue their passions and retain their natural curiosity even while studying in school.

In conclusion, learning does not entirely come through education. In fact, on the contrary, it is best to pursue our passions alongside any education we may attain. In my opinion, education hinders learning. Therefore, parents should expose their children to activities that encourage creative thinking and allow their children to experience learning outside the classrooms.