Age discrimination occurs when a decision is made on the basis of a person's age. In the workplace, these are most often decisions about being employed in the first place, winning promotions or being unfairly dismissed.

Should discrimination against older workers be made illegal?

The importance of treating everyone equally regardless of age and gender, which was always debatable, has now become controversial. The substantial influence of older employees in a company has sparked the controversy over the potential impact of this trend on young workers in recent years. It can be agreed that age discrimination should be banned from society, therefore more measures should be taken in order to minimize this issue. This essay will elaborate on how the government should make laws to reinforce the effect of this concept in the globalized world and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are many reasons why discrimination against older workers should be made illegal, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that everyone deserves the right to be promoted by his competence and skills and not by how old he is. In addition, the organizations should recognize the effort of their teams by watching their value and contribution to the business' goals.

Another key justification for upholding this notion is that employees are victims of unfair dismission once reaching an advanced age. For example, the rule should be the opposite, because as older an employee become, more experience he has granted, hence he will be more able to work in better decision making process.

From what has been discussed above, it can be concluded that judging someone by his age should be made a crime, therefore the government and the owners of the companies should work in partnership in order to eliminate this problem from the society.