Age discrimination occurs when a decision is made on the basis of a person's age. In the workplace, these are most often decisions about being employed in the first place, winning promotions or being unfairly dismissed. Should discrimination against older workers be made illegal?

Although such topics, in all likelihood, will never yield a consensual agreement, a constructive dialogue on the age discrimination in the work place can lead to thought-provoking discussions. Irrespective of the numerous argument that exit on either site, my opinion is that the discrimination against older workers should be made illegal to secure fair assessment between all workers.

There are a number of reasons in favor of my stance. To begin with, many companies have certain strict policy for the work environment, and it should be the bases of any employee`s performance assessment. It is important to note that when the company deals fairly with workers without considering the aspect of age, this enhances the work environment and company production. Therefore, the aforementioned discussion shows that without neglecting such discrimination of age, company`s improvement is doubtful.

Another pivotal aspect of the argument is that the career progress shall be equally provided for all workers, and the only measuring factor is his KPI in the work. First and foremost, if the company does not promote any skillful employee due to his age, a legal action should be considered by the authorities. this exemplifies that the importance of equal consideration for all workers.

In conclusion, I see that there is equally potential evidence to support the arguments I have provided, and hence, my opinion is that any decision on the basis of a person`s age should be made illegal.