As cities expanding, some people claim governments should look forward creating better networks of public transportation available for everyone rather than building more roads for vehicle owning population. What’s your opinion? Give some examples or experience to support.

In this day and age, building better public transport networks over roads have become a debatable issue among people from all walks of life all around the world. Although building public mode of transport rather than roads are regarded as thoroughly both positive and constructive by many individuals, a number of people hold an opposite view. I am inclined to strongly believe that governments should focus more on building public transport systems.

To begin with, there are a number of reasons why I support the idea that governments should concentrate more on building public transport. First and foremost is that public transport systems are always economic for the common people. Secondly, it causes less pollution and is more environment-friendly. For instance, 20 people traveling on a bus is always efficient compared to 20 people driving their own vehicles. Consequently, it is quite conspicuous that public mode of transport is quite advantageous.

However, there is no doubt that the lack of roads can cause various negative outcomes. Roads are necessary and important for a nation’s development. But the real question is about the priority. By way of example, a recent study conducted by eminent scientists has shown that 80% of the people prefer public transports over private vehicles. Thus, it is quite obvious that governments should be focusing on building a better network of public transport.

To put it in a nutshell, while there are several persuasive arguments on both sides, my opinion depicts that the governments should give more attention in building better public transport facilities over roads because it’ll benefit the nations in the long run.