Communication has changed significantly in the last 10 years. Discuss pros and cons of this change.

The last decade was dominated by the innovations and inventions in all areas of discoveries, however, advancement in the area of information technology is proven to be game-changing. Due to mammoth innovations in the area of technology and the internet, communication has been evolved significantly worldwide. Proponents are debating over these phenomena, many argue that these changes in communication have many positive influences on society, however, others have opposite views stating that it has created chaos and has detrimental impacts on the humans. In this article, I will discuss both the positive and negative sides of this development.

To begin with, there have been massive changes the way people and businesses do communication these days from earlier postal era to recent e-mail era. Emails are proven to be boon for both the individuals and corporates. With emails, people can communicate seamlessly across the world, moreover, it is almost free and faster which has brought more agility in the communication. Finally, a majority of people stay connected with their family, friends and business partners via online conferencing tools. Furthermore, this evolution has positive impacts on environments in terms of saving paper and the fuel for carrying post.

On the other hand, over-reliance on online communication medium has certain detrimental impacts. For instance, people are not able to take adequate sleep due to round the clock online connectivity, this has severe health impacts. Lastly, these phenomena have led to lifestyle diseases such as obesity due to sedentary life.

In conclusion, form the above examples, it is evident that, if used holistically and properly, advancement in communication can be boon, otherwise, it can be turned in to the ban for society.