Education system that assess the student's learning by written exam is correct? Discuss your view?

Over the period of time, we have witnessed a massive transformation in the education sector. The learning methods and assessments have changed enormously. Proponents are debating over these phenomena of the assessment process in terms of written exams. Many argue that it has a positive influence on students learning, however, others hold opposite views, stating that it promotes rote learning. In this article, I will analyze both the views before arriving at an appropriate conclusion.

To begin with, written exams have many benefits to offer over the practical exams. First, writing requires significant cognitive language skills, hence, by this way of assessment students’ language and subject knowledge will increase simultaneously. This will also be boon for certain professional careers later on. For instance, improved writing skills will help them grab certain niche’ jobs in the domains of media and news as an editor and content writer. Moreover, this is an old and proven method of assessment.

On the other hand, written exams have minor downsides. Certain fields of engineering and medicine require practical tests so that students can comprehend the subject better. For example, if students are exposed to a laboratory for shop floor experiments, they will perceive it faster as compared to merely reading the books.

In conclusion, from the above examples, I suggest keeping the right mix of written as well as practical exams for the holistic development of the students, which will make them future ready.