In developing countries, tourism has disadvantages or advantages?

Of late, there has been a colossal upsurge in the trend by the prodigies discussing the pros and cons of tourism in developing countries. Some people believe that tourism in developing countries entails numerous advantages, while others maintain that tourism has ample of side effects on third world countries. This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in under-developed countries.

Firstly, there are ample of benefits that tourism brings in under developed countries. The most conspicuous is that tourism boosts the economy of the country and also opens new profitable ventures for the locals. For instance, local businesses like hotels and resturants will be highly benefitted with the increased influx of tourists. Not only foriegn exchequer and local business is accelarated but also more job ventures are created for the local population. As a matter of fact, the advantages of tourism are quite evident on under developing countries.

On the other hand, the disadvantages of tourism cannot be sidelined. To begin with, flow of tourists would multiply the requirement of basic commodities and augment the financial burden on the government. Therefore, governments will be required to go beyond their financial capacity to meet the demand of tourists and their citizens. As an example, governments will have to make all out efforts to provide basic necessities like health, filtered water, electricity and communication means at all tourists spots and locations. As a result, tourism might cause in enhancement of financial burden on local government.

To recapitulate, tourism entails both pros and cons, however boosting of economy and influx of foriegn exchange by tourism outwieghs its disadvantages which can be subsequently met my the government.