Do you think a cashless society is realistic and why? What are the advantages and disadvantages?

The importance of cashless society, was always debatable, has now been controversial. The substantial influence of cashless society has sparked the controversy over the potential impact of this trend in recent years. It can be said that credit cards give various advantages as well as disadvantages. This essay elaborates, how cards provide convenience for consumers and how it tempting buyers to purchase unnecessary products and thus lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are number of reasons why the cashless society is important, but the most conspicuous one stem from the fact that it provides more convenience for consumers and less hassel for them as they do not need to carry cash. For instance, the recent study conducted by Australian government recorded that there is a 75% usage of credit cards during 2017. Hence, it can be said that people are now moving to using credit cards as it provides more convenience.

Nevertheless, there are some drawbacks which certainly overwhelm the potential impact of using cards, but the most alarming one is rooting from the fact that it may lead to unnecessary purchasing patterns. For instance, recent study on household expenditure reveals that there is a 45% unwanted purchases made during shoping as they do not want to pay for those goods instantly. Hence, it can be said that due to postponing nature of card purchases, people tempt to buy unwanted products.

After analysing the above, it can be concluded that the cashless society is prominent, although the unnecessary purchase patterns should not be overlooked.