Do you think consumer should avoid over packed products or it is responsibility of producer to avoid extra packaging of products?” Give your views or any relevant example with your own experience.

At present the matter of considerable controversy is whether it is the responsibility of the consumers to avoid buying overly packaged products or the responsibility lies with the producers. This essay will discuss why the producers need to cut down the packaging material.

First of all, expecting the consumers to eschew the purchase of an overly packaged product is not realistic. The consumers will always buy the necessary products irrespective of their packaging. From example, I cannot stop buying flour because it comes in plastic packaging. It is my necessity and I have to buy it in whatever packaging it comes in the market. However, people should definitely try to recycle the packaging material.

Secondly, packaging of a product is beyond the control of a consumer. It is the responsibility of the producer to appropriately package the product by using minimal material. They should carefully choose the packing material so that it can be recycled and reused. Producer also need to ensure the right material so that shelf life of a product is maintained. For example, an olive oil producers should use glass bottle instead of a plastic bottle. It not only increase the shelf life of the oil but also reduce plastic waste.

In conclusion, the responsibility of the packaging lies with the producers and they should choose the appropriate packaging material in the apt quantity. Consumers can only try to minimize the packaging waste but they cannot avoid it completely.