Do you think consumers should avoid over packaged products or is it the responsibility of producers?

The supply of over packaged products have surged in the past century. Some people think that it is onus of the consumers to avoid over packaged products, while others argue that it is onus of the producers to avoid over packaged products. This essay will discuss that it is duty of the producers to avoid over packaged products.

First of all, the over packaging of products leads to increase in the overall cost of the products. The products like snacks must not be over packaged as such food items should be readily available for consumption. For example, lays chips is sold out at a very large scale across the world and is considered as a good snack. If it is over packaged then the overall cost of the product will increase. As a result of this the consumer will have to pay much more than the actual cost of the product.

Second of all, manufacturing companies are reducing the quantity of the product by over packaged products. The product actual quantity is very low as most of the weight of the product comes is due to over packaging. For instance, the chocolates are sold in heavy wrapped fancy material covers due to which the quantity of chocolate is very less. This results in very low consumption of the actual product by the consumer.

This essay propounds the view that it is the responsibility of the producers to avoid over packaged products due to high cost and poor quantity of products. Further, it is expected that the people make cognizance of the fact and avoid over packaged products. In my opinion, it is the responsibility of the producer to avoid over packaged products distribution in the market.