Do you think formal written assessments in today's world to assess students’ performance is effective or not? Discuss your viewpoint on this and support your answer with examples.

Students are commonly assessed through written essay or report. This essay will discuss how academic writing can effectively indicate students’ learning outcomes and demonstrate their understanding on the study topic.

Coursework assessment in higher level education involves formal writing which is done either individually or in group. Formal writing involves a comprehensive working knowledge, a logical structure, a proper diction and an appropriate writing style. Assessing students through their writings helps evaluate a set of skills rather than just knowledge about the study topic. As a result, evaluation on students’ formal writing is an effective method to assess students’ outcomes.

Academic writing not just indicates the performance of students and their skills but also reflects their understanding on the topic. Students acquire to gather information, analyse it and come up with a logical answer to the given question or topic. The level of accuracy and comprehension of the answer designates how well students understand the topic. Hence, report writing assessment is a plausible method to evaluate students’ understanding.

To conclude, even though the method of assessing students through formal writing has been used for a long time, it is still an effective method to evaluate students’ learning outcomes. The assessment reflects both the learning outcomes and understanding of students.