Do you think formal written assessments in today's world to assess students’ performance is effective or not? Discuss your viewpoint on this and support your answer with examples.

These days, there is an ongoing debate between people about the written assessment methods to evaluate student grades. While it is possible to claim that the writing a formal piece of paper can be effective for a student, in my view the formal written work cannot reflect the student's true ability to perform tasks and the disadvantages in this type of system outweigh the benefits. In this essay, I shall explain my point of view by explaining both sides of the argument.

First of all, there are several reasons why I am against the formal writing tasks in academic studies. One of them is that student tends to focus just to complete the long writing task without any pure knowledge and understanding. Moreover, it can also be argued that the writing tasks do not improve analytical skills or practical knowledge. Similarly, it should also be taken into account that most of the students do not find any interest in writing a long piece of work without having a profound skill in their subject and therefore, it cannot portrait a true image of a student's abilities during the assessment.

On the other hand, those who argue for written assessments have a different point of view and say that it can actually be a good thing. Firstly, it is claimed that the long writing tasks force students to think deeply and research about the subject which gives them edge in the professional world to analyse the problems. Then, there are concerns about the writing and data management skills which can be assessed by such tasks.

In conclusion, there are strong arguments on both sides of the case.However, my personal opinion is that written assessment are good but lacks in essence of an assessment which can truly judge a candidate on merit.