Mandatory electoral voting systems function better than free choice voting systems.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with this statement. Support your point of views with reasons and examples.

In many countries, voting has been compulsory for all citizens. Many people believe that the obligatory system to vote on an election day is comparatively better than the voter’s own choice to cast their vote. This essay will discuss the reasons why compulsory voting is advantageous than free voting.

To begin with, mandatory voting system has many benefits over free voting and the most influential one is that it leads to higher voter turnout. For example, countries like Australia, Greece and France always maintain high proportion of voters on the day of elections because of the strict rules and regulations regarding vote casting. Therefore, it is imperative that the lower voter turn out cannot reflect the decision of the whole country or the majority and can lead to myriad of concerns by selecting wrong people.

Similarly, compulsory voting system can also help to reduce corruption like rigging in polls by political parties. It has widely seen that, in case of low turnout of voters, opponents try to cash the un casted votes on their names in order to gain the clear majority. Hence, it is clear that necessary voting can play a pivotal role in preventing the wrongdoing during elections.

This essay discussed how compulsory voting system increases the voters turn out and decreases the chances of rigging in elections. In my opinion, enforced voting is far more beneficial for our society as compared to the system that gives voters the choice to vote or not.