Do you think that formal written examinations are a good way to assess knowledge at school?

The importance of formal written examinations is a good way to assess knowledge at school which was always debatable has now become more controversial with many people claiming that it is beneficial while others reject this notion. The substantial influence of this trend has sparked controversy over the potential impact in recent years In my opinion, the former proposition appears to be more rational. This essay will further elaborate on the positive and negative effects of this trend and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

There are myriad reasons which will further explain this argument but the most preponderant one stems from the fact that formal examinations teach various things to students and they have to finish all exams in the given duration. Another pivotal aspect of this argument is that the theoretical portion helps in attaining the skills to write clearly and concisely. Needless to say, all these merits stand in good stead.

However, there are some pitfalls that negate these arguments and which can certainly overwhelm the potential influence of this trend but one of the most alarming ones is that the students cram the whole syllabus and they vomit out in the exams. Besides, the prejudice and the biased opinions of the teachers can also affect the educational outcomes of the students. Hence, it is apparent why many are against this trend.

According to the arguments aforementioned above, one can reach to the conclusion that the benefits of written examination are good in schools are instrumental indeed. Nevertheless, its potential drawbacks should not be overlooked either.