Do you think that formal written examinations are a good way to assess knowledge at school

The written discourse has been one of the ways which teachers evaluate students since long time ago. It is through essays that they know if their pupils have acquired enough knowledge to attend the next school year. Albeit some people may believe that it is not the apt way to assess students' knowledge, others think otherwise. In my opnion, formal written examinations are good way at time, but they are not other ones.

First of all, there are many students who are good at writing. They are able to convey ideas in an astonishing way, however they may lack knowledge in other parts of understanding and if we merely take the written part to assess pupil's knowledge, we may lack with other subjects which form the whole system education part.

Finally, there is a desideratum in having the overall assessment to the education system when trying to evaluate student's education. It is not only by gauging one part but we have to understand the every subjetcs in analizes.