Experience is the best teacher. Some people believe it is more effective than formal school study and books, what do you think?

Studying in books only is not sufficient, practical experience is required to get a better picture. Some people believe in this notion while others argue that conventional education of books is more effective in learning. This essay will discuss how having an experience is a better way to learn.

To begin with, studying books can help in getting initial information about a subject but to get a clearer view of the subject experience is required. For example, when an engineer starts practice engineering, he might even learn from a layman who is uneducated but have experience in the field. In some cases, they give better solutions than the fresh engineers when an issue is faced at site. Therefore, experience is more necessary in these fields.

Secondly, formal education will only teach some basic concepts while practice will improve its understanding. Further it helps in understanding the complexity of a concept and in depth details. For instance, learning to use a vernier caliper by reading in a book is less helpful as compared when it is used in a physics laboratory by physically using them to measure different objects. Hence, seeing the implementation of any concept practically is more beneficial to to learn anything for a longer period of time.

In conclusion, traditional studies may be helpful in developing initial concepts but in my opinion experience is a better teacher.