The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books and they shouldn’t

waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media

such as computer software, videos and DVDs. To what extent do you agree or

disagree with this statement?

Today, the fact of using technology-based devices in libraries and its corresponding impact has been long marked by controversy among people particularly, librarian authorities. While some of them claim that providing hi-tech media for libraries is pointless, I inclined to believe that those libraries which benefit from such cutting-edge technologies are gaining more popularity, so I completely disagree with that idea.

To begin with, nowadays, with the emerge of technology, libraries should benefit other aspects of media such as DVD, Electronic books and some other kind of multimedia learning devices. Therefore, governors should take the responsibility of providing sufficient equipment for libraries. For example, by giving the adequate budget to libraries, we benefit a hi-tech atmosphere in them which in turn, can bring about a contemporary way of learning for both new generations and old citizens. As it clearly reveals, investing money to make libraries equipped with modern media systems can have significant effect on both educated and ordinary citizens.

Moreover, new media introduce new ways of learning for young people who are spending a great deal of time with their paper book on schools and universities. So this technological devices can cultivate their mind and alter their old-fashioned learning methods. As it is obvious, libraries which provide high-tech devices and media, can help new generation to lead a better life owing to cultivating their mind.

As a conclusion, I would like to reaffirm that, whereas there are numerous arguments for the both ideas, I am firmly convinced that the advantages of making libraries well-equipped with all varieties of medium far outweigh its drawbacks.