Many sports players advertise sport-related products. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Over the last few decades, sport industry has become one of the most profitable, mainly due to advertising of related goods. In spite of the widespread belief that sport marketing is certainly beneficial for both the public and players, many consider this tendency as rather disadvantageous. This essay will explore the main pros and cons of this trend and show why it is mostly detrimental.

To begin with, athletes earn significantly more by promoting various sports equipment. In general, becoming famous and using sponsorship to advertise products dramatically increase the income of sport stars, which is an incredible extra motivation for hard training. For instance, the collaboration with Nike and creation Nike Jordan brand brought Michael Jordan about 2 billion dollars. Thus, this is the great opportunity for players to convert their popularity and personal brand value into money.

However, in pursuit of big money unprincipled sportsmen are used to taking advantage of their influence by promoting gambling, which currently is the highest paid advertising. This problem is already affecting the world negatively and unfortunately, nothing sells gambling better then elite athletes. For example, legendary boxer Mike Tyson did not shy away from the advertisement of bookmakers. In addition, people tend to assume that if a particular piece of gear or nutrition suggested by great player made him great, then you could do the same by consuming the same products. Thereby, it is very common for people to google “Kipchoge running shoes” instead of “Kipchoge running program”.

Considering the above, despite all the benefits such as easy income, advertising sport-related products brings more disadvantages, contributing to the gambling plight and misleading belief that anyone can prosper in sports just by spending a little money on certain products.